1. DO I NEED A PERMIT TO BURN IN A BURN BARREL?

A: Yes. ALL outdoor burning now requires a permit.


2. DO I NEED A PERMIT TO BURN A PILE SMALLER THAN 4FT. X 4FT. IN SIZE?

A: Yes. ALL outdoor burning now requires a permit.


3. WHAT MATERIALS DOES A PERMIT ALLOW ME TO BURN?

A: Untreated Paper • Untreated Cardboard • Untreated Lumber • Yard Debris • Woody Vegetation.

 

4. WHAT MATERIALS CAN'T I BURN, EVEN IF I HAVE A PERMIT?

A: The materials you may not burn include…

Rubber Products • Tires • Plastic • Garbage • Wire Insulation • Automobile Parts • Petroleum and Petroleum-Treated Materials • Asphalt • Asbestos • Industrial Waste • Clothing • Mattresses • Couches • Stuffed Chairs • Animal Remains • Animal or Vegetable Matter • Any material that creates dense smoke or noxious odors. 

Burning of these materials can result in fines by the State of Oregon, Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) of up to $10,000 per day; and by the Illinois Valley Fire District of a minimum $250. 

 

5. IF I HAVE A PERMIT, CAN I BURN ANYTIME I WANT?

A: No.  You may not burn
• During Fire Season 
After Dark 
If 
Hazardous Fire Conditions Exist 
If 
Windy Conditions Exist 
If T
here are Reasonable Smoke Complaints From Neighbors 

 

6. WHERE CAN I BURN?

A: The distance to the nearest structure, combustibles, or property lines must be at least…
50 ft.  If Your Burn Pile is Larger Than 3-ft. by 3-ft.in Size
• 25 ft.  If Your Burn Pile is Smaller Than 3-ft. by 3-ft. in Size
• 15 ft.  If You You Are Burning in A Burn Barrel 
distancereq 

   

7. WHAT ABOUT FIRES IN FREESTANDING FIREPLACES?

A: Fires in freestanding fireplaces must be
• Placed on a Non-Combustible Surface, and
• Located a Minimum of 15 ft. from Walls, Posts, Fences, Combustible Materials, Vegetation, Overhangs/Canopies, and Property Lines.

 

8. WHAT ABOUT RECREATIONAL FIRES?

A: Recreational fires (such as fire pits) must
Be Located a Minimum of 25 ft.  from Structures or Combustible Material.
Prior to Ignition, be free of  Conditions Which Could Cause a Fire to Spread within 25 ft. of a Structure.
Have a Total Fuel Area of 3 ft. or Less in Diameter and 2 ft. or Less in Height.
Have A Screen Placed Over the Fire.

 

9. DOES THE STANDARD OUTDOOR BURN PERMIT COVER ALL TYPES OF BURNING?

A: No, It Does Not Cover:


Burning of Commercial Waste, Industrial Waste, Construction Waste, Demolition Waste, or Land Clearing Debris.
A Development Permit must be obtained for these activities. A Development permit may be obtained only at the Illinois Valley Fire District Adminstrative Offices located at 681 Caves Highway, Cave Junction, Oregen. The fee for a Development Permit is $50.00.


• Agricultural, Field, or Slash Burning.
Permits for these activities may be obtained only at the Illinois Valley Fire District Adminstrative Offices located at 681 Caves Highway, Cave Junction, Oregen. These permits are available at no charge.


 Commercial Logging on Government Land and/or on Private Lands Permitted by ODF.

Commercial Logging on government land and/or on private lands permitted by ODF is not subject to IVFD jurisdiction. Complaints about burning on these lands (large unattended fires or excessive smoke) should be directed to:
 

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Complaint Hot Line (888) 997-7887
The Line is manned 8:00am - 5:00pm M-F

 

Oregon Department of Forestry
5375 Monument Drive
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Telephone: (541) 474-3152
Office Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm M-F

 

Bureau of Land Management
2164 N.E. Spalding Ave
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Telephone: (541) 471-6500
Office Hours: 7:45am - 4:30pm M-F
 

10.WHAT OTHER REQUIREMENTS MUST I FOLLOW?

• Do not place your fire near or under Power Lines. Smoke can conduct electricity and result in electrical shock.

• Burn piles greater than 10 ft. wide, by 10 ft. deep, must be inspected and approved by IVFD prior to burning.

Vegetation must be cleared from around the burn pile/burn barrel to prevent the spread of fire.

• A charged garden hose and/or firefighting equipment and tools must be at the burn site.

• Burning must be conducted under the constant supervision of a person (attendant) capable of taking corrective action.

• The fire must be extinguished if conditions develop which would cause the fire to spread (i.e. wind, brands or embers, etc.).

• The fire must be extinguished if there are reasonable smoke complaints from neighbors.

• The fire must be completely burned down to coals or extinguished prior to dark. Burning is allowed during daylight hours only.

• A Signed, Valid IVFD Permit Must be Available Upon Request at the Burn Site.

Clearance

11.WHEN DOES MY PERMIT EXPIRE?

A: The expiration date will be printed on the permit. However, your permit will not be valid during fire season, regardless of the date printed on the permit. 

 

12.CAN MY PERMIT BE REVOKED?

 A: Yes. A permit can be revoked at anytime by a fire officer.


13.WHAT IS THE PENALTY FOR BURNING ILLEGALLY?

A: Any burning without a permit or violations of the burning requirements may result in a minimum $250 fine, the issuance of a citation(s) of civil penalty, and/or suppression costs. 


14. DOES A PERMIT RELIEVE ME OF LIABILITY FROM DAMAGES MY FIRE MAY CAUSE?

A: No. A permit does not relieve you from criminal or civil liability for damages. 

 

More Articles...